18th century patchwork pocket

DSC03783

For my next sewing project I made two patchwork pockets. In the picture below you can see a lovely example from a 18th century pocket. Pockets like this were worn  under the dress. At first glance they seem very small but they are very spacious and you can keep things like keys, money or letters very safe under your dress.

50e5e957534381544cb15495bc3ac86b

Source: Pinterest

The fabric remnants are lovely memories of all the sewing projects from the last two years. Do you see the lovely blockprinted fabric? This is a fabric remnant from my daydress I made for my picnic at Jena. Or the fabric with the delicate flowers? This reminds me on my first Robe à l’Anglaise.  So I have a „Diary“ of all my loveliest sewing projects :-).

Für mein nächstes Projekt habe ich mir zwei Patchworktaschen genäht. Sie werden (unsichtbar) unter dem Kleid getragen. Obwohl sie recht schmal wirken, sind sie doch sehr geräumig. Kleinigkeiten wie Briefe, Geld oder Schlüssel lassen sich gut darin aufbewahren. Die Idee für Patchworktaschen, aus lauter Erinnerungsstücken war durchaus üblich. (Siehe Bildchen oben). In diesen Taschen habe ich nun schöne Erinnerungen an meine Nähprojekte der letzten zwei Jahre:  Der schöne Stoff mit dem Indischen Blockdruckmuster erinnert mich an das schöne Picknick in Schillers Garten in Jena. Das Blumenmuster erinnert mich an meine Robe à l’Anglaise.

DSC03800

So habe ich immer schöne Erinnerungen bei mir 🙂 Danke an Maren  für die Inspiration 

Kommentar verfassen

