1920 Robe de Style

Since always I love the wonderful dresses from the Roaring 20ś, and since I am going to a Speakeasy in a forthnight, I thought I must make a new 2oś dress.

lan5My favorite was and is a Robe de Style.

The Robe de style describes a style of dress popular in the 1920 as an alternative to the straight-cut chemise dress.

The style was characterised by its full skirts. The bodice could be fitted, or straight-cut in the chemise manner, with a dropped waist, but it was the full skirt that denoted the robe de style. Sometimes the fullness was supported with petticoats, panniers or hoops. 

 

 

The robe de style was a signature design of the couturier Jeanne Lanvin. Other couture houses known for their versions of the robe de style included Callot Soeurs and Lucile.“ Source: Wikipedia

The above shown dress was also made by a very high talented blogger- koshka the cat– and I was so impressed by her work that I decided to try it myself.

sex7SrvFosqXfz5i3wzvXOUH0tpMLEismfFvVPOzmmQ=w628-h837-no

 

DSC03988 (1)_v1

For the decoration I used some cotton roses I have found  in my stash and a pink satin ribbon.

DSC03982 (1)_v1

20150116_100556_v1

And now letś have a closer look to the unmentionables 😉

DSC03990 (1)_v1

This wonderful chemise is from my great-grandmother, I am very glad to have it.

DSC03992 (1)_v1

Eh.. yes.. this is my version of a hoop skirt ;-).  (Not perfect but it works)

DSC03994_v1

..covered with a petticoat.

Cant wait to go to the upcoming Speakeasy

Robe de Style
Pattern: Blouse Robe et Cie.. Yoshiko Tsukiori (amended and adapted by me)
Black Satin Linen, Pink Satin and old Cotton Roses

4 Kommentare zu “1920 Robe de Style

Kommentar verfassen

